Science 10.06.2020

Learning focus: to explore life cycles in humans and animals

All animals, including humans, are born, they get older and bigger and some will go on to have children. In the end, all animals die. We call this a life cycle.

Watch these films (if you are able)

Animals are small when they start life. Over time they grow bigger and their bodies change. When they are grown up, they might reproduce and have young animals of their own. These ‘children’ will get older and may eventually also have children too, and so the life cycle keeps going!

ACTIVITY: The 6 stages of the life-cycle order below is mixed up - have a go at re-ordering the stages, illustrating each stage too with cartoon or scientific pictures.

Life-cycle stages:-

- Childhood At this stage, you learn to walk and talk.

- Old age The last stage in the life cycle of a human.

- Foetus At this time, a baby is growing inside its mother's womb.

- Adulthood Your body is fully developed.

- Baby A baby is born after spending nine months inside the womb.

- Adolescence Children become teenagers.

Have a go at the activities on the BBC website if you are able:

Extension: investigate other creatures like birds or reptiles. Are they similar or different to a human?

Don't forget to email us a picture of your work please!